Texting While Driving is Now a Primary Offense in Florida

399
Texting While Driving | I-10 Exit Guide

Texting while driving in the state of Florida will now be a primary driving offense punishable by fines under a new law signed by Governor Ron DeSantis on Friday.

Under the current law, police officers can only cite drivers for texting if they are already stopped for another violation. The new law allows officers to stop motorists for texting alone.

A first offense is punishable by a $30 fine, and $60 for a second offense. Court costs and fees also would apply.

This new texting while driving law takes effect on July 1. Warnings will be given until January, when law enforcement can begin writing tickets.

The texting ban does not apply to a driver using a navigation device or system or to a driver whose vehicle is stationary.


On the road? Why not take us with you. Our websites are mobile-friendly! Visit our growing family of exit guides:  I-4 Exit GuideI-5 Exit GuideI-10 Exit GuideI-75 Exit Guide, and I-95 Exit Guide. Detailed exit service listings… discount lodging, camping, food, gas and more for every exit along the way!

Previous articleThe ‘Slippery Road’ to Generations of Family Vacation Memories in New Braunfels, Texas
Next articleNearly 43 Million Americans Will Kick Off Summer This Memorial Day Weekend
I-10 Exit Guide
One of the most complete road travel resources of its kind on the Internet! The Interstate 10 Exit Information Guide features exit service listings for the entire length of I-10 from California to Florida! Food, gas, lodging, rest areas, attractions and more…

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here